Spare Time

Spare time is not something I have much of, but the thought of making a blog has been on my mind for a while now. Aside from time, it was the vision for the blog that has always been what I lacked. I love to cook and bake, create crafty things, to take photos, and talking about the Bible as God’s Word and what it means for our lives – and to be honest, a blog with all those things has every potential to end up as a bit of mess, but I just couldn’t work out what I wanted the purpose to be.  So after a few months of leaving it at the back of my mind, I decided that as much as these are all good things, if there was one thing that would give me the best chance of actually persisting with this new endeavor of blogging (in light of my history of being a bit of a chronic starter-but-never-finisher), it would be pursuing it for the thing I love most: God.

I am certainly not an expert on the Bible, or living life as a Christian, but there are so many moments in my day-to-day life, as I read, pray and reflect, that make me go, ‘man I just want everyone I know to know this.’ So I hope that some of the things you find here might bring you the same awe, joy and challenge or encouragement as they do for me.

If you aren’t a Christian, please don’t let that stop you from reading! Whilst the content will be most geared towards people who are, I hope that this could give you a bit of a window into something you may not know much about, beyond the Easter and Christmas Christianity you learnt at school or maybe even experienced yourself. If you have questions about anything, please ask, strike up a conversation when you see me, or shoot me a message. I would love to be able to talk about it with you 🙂 Knowing me, completely unrelated things will probably also find their way onto the blog, most likely fitting into one of the few categories of things I love as mentioned above, so it is certainly not a ‘for-Christians-only’ space.

I am also hoping that I can use this blog as a place to share some of my happy snaps with you! I know that Jesus and photography are not super related, but they are for me – and considering it is my blog I figure that is a good enough reason for the two to share the space. I just love the beauty of this world, in nature, people, moments. I absolutely think the beauty of this world reflects the beauty of the God who made it, whether it be food, mountains, or people. Capturing that is such a privilege – and it makes me so thankful for the gifts we have been given, and for the expression of incredible creativity which surrounds and infiltrates our daily lives. I hope that my photos can be a reflection of this for you too.

As a bit of an aside, I actually almost made a blog that I wouldn’t share just to put my photos on, because I enjoy seeing photos in sequence much more than on a social media page, or in a folder on my computer, but I had no intentions to make it about showing it to others, getting views, or falling into a trap of seeking approval. I eventually decided like all things in life, the things you love are better when you can share it with others (except hot cross buns – only because hubby doesn’t appreciate them as much as me so they are wasted on him), so hence they are now going to be part of the blog.

Hope you enjoy! (and that posts come for you to enjoy -we’ll see how we go)

